Klakken wins reelection as Dillon mayor
Dillon Mayor Mike Klakken gained a comfortable win Tuesday in his bid for a second term.

The final results are in for area municipal elections that wrapped up Tuesday night.

Dillon Mayor Mike Klakken gained another four-year term by receiving more than twice as many votes (766 to 372) as challenger Tom Straugh, the current city council president in Dillon.

Kaylan Minor scored an impressive victory in the race for Dillon city judge, winning just over 53 percent of the vote as a write-in candidate to top Paul Pilgrim, 593 to 373, with Crystal Thompson (who resigned as city judge Aug. 30 but not in time to get her name taken off the ballot) picking up 152 votes.

Dillon voters endorsed a police services mill levy to fund the hiring and equipping of two additional full-time police officers in Dillon, with those in favor of the measure numbering 722 to just 444 opposed.

The Dillon City Council will welcome a new member in January, when Mary Jo O’Rourke takes over the Ward 4 seat being vacated by the retirement of Jim McIsaac. The only person to register to be eligible to receive write-in votes in a race for which no one appeared on the ballot, O’Rourke essentially won with the first ballot cast for her.

Mandy Maass won re-election for a four-year term on the other Ward 4 seat, even though she has advised that she will be moving out of state before the start of the term. No one else appeared on the ballot for that race or was eligible to receive write-in votes.

Three other incumbent Dillon city councilpersons who ran unopposed—John Garry, Russ Schwandt and Bill Shafer—each won reelection.

Most races proved tighter in Lima, with Judy Weekes (58 votes) and Travis Wilson (56 votes) coming out on top in the four-way race for a pair of four-year terms on the Lima City Council, with Dorothy Mikula (50 votes) and David G. Brown (25 votes) filling out the rest of the field.

Running unopposed for a two-year term on the Lima council, James Fullard polled all 76 votes cast in that race.

David D. Olsen won the Lima mayor’s race by a two-to-one margin, getting 66 votes to Kent Craven’s 33.