Beavers fill 8 All-State, 19 All-Conference slots

Dillon inside linebacker Carson King was named the Southwestern A “Most Valuable Defensive Player,” for the second consecutive year. King also earned all-state honors at the position. King is shown during the playoffs getting the defense in alignment. The Beavers posted an 11-0 record and won the state “A” championship. J.P. Plutt photo


The Dillon Beavers filled 19 slots on the Southwestern "A" All-Conference football team and of that group, eight players were accorded Class "A" All-State honors on rosters released last week.  The Beavers capped a perfect 11-0 season with a state championship victory over Billings Central.

"I thought we had a great selection and I thought our team was well represented and everybody that was deserving was rewarded," said Dillon coach Rick Nordahl.

Nordahl, the long-time defensive coordinator for the Beavers, stepped into the head coach position this season and the successful program did not miss a beat, outscoring the opposition 435 to 108 over the 11 games in which Dillon dominated both offensively and defensively enroute to their sixth state title since 2000.

In voting prior to the Class A football playoff, Nordahl was named by his fellow coaches as the Southwestern "A" "Coach of the Year."

Following the state title game, coaches representing the four conferences met via a conference call and selected the All-State roster.  Dillon's all-state honorees included three from the offensive side of the ball and five from the defensive unit.

Junior quarterback J.D. Ferris, and seniors Donovan Hucke and Troy Scott topped their position list on the all-state roster.  Hucke, 6-0, 280, earned recognition as a center.  Scott, 6-3, 215, was named an all-state tight end.

Dillon's all-state defensive performers, all seniors, included inside linebacker Carson King (6-3, 215), defensive end Christian Coiner (6-2, 200), Safety Mick Paffhausen (5-10, 170), cornerback M.J. Simkins (5-11, 160), and outside linebacker Gabe Chilson (5-11, 185).

In addition to Nordahl's nod as Southwestern A "Coach of the Year," Carson King was named "Most Valuable Defensive Player," and Ferris shared "Most Valuable Offensive Player" honors with Butte Central running back Wyatt Kingston and Hamilton quarterback Josh Bauder.

"Ironically, when we were voting on the defensive MVP, the other coaches said we could take our first 11 on defense and put them all up," said Nordahl.  "Carson has been the heart and soul of our defense and our quarterback on that side of the ball.  He truly was the most valuable player on defense in the Southwestern A."

Ferris, a first-year starter as a junior, completed 125 of his 205 throws (61%) an threw just four interceptions to 26 touchdowns.  In addition, he ran the ball 81 times for 406 yards and 9 touchdowns, fumbling once.

"I thought all three were the catalysts of their teams and basically, it was the three teams that made the playoffs," explained Nordahl.  "Had they done the voting after the playoffs I believe J.D. would have won it hands down, but the voting was done before the playoffs had taken place.


Dillon's Southwestern "A" 

All-Conference selections

First Team Offense

Center – Donovan Hucke, 6-0, 280, sr.  Guard – Carson King, 6-3, 215, sr.  Tight end – Troy Scott, 6-4, 215, sr.  Quaterback – J.D. Ferris, 5-11, 165, jr.   Fullback – Colton Reibe, 5-9, 160, sr.

First Team Defense

Defensive line – Donovan Hucke, 6-0, 280, sr.; Christian Coiner, 6-2, 200, sr.  Inside linebacker – Carson King, 6-3, 215, sr.  Strong safety – Mick Paffhausen, 5-10, 170, sr.  Outside Linebacker – Troy Scott, 6-4, 215, sr.; Gabe Chilson 5-11, 185, sr.  Cornerback – M.J. Simkins, 5-11, 160, sr.

Second Team Offense

Tackle – Eathan Tatarka, 6-2, 215, sr.  Slot receiver – M.J. Simkins, 5-11, 160, sr.   Wide receiver – Mick Paffhausen, 5-10, 170, sr.

Second Team Defense

Inside Linebacker – Parker Tezak, 6-0, 200, jr.  

Honorable Mention

Wide receiver – Chance Kluesner, 5-10, 180, sr.  Cornerback – Connor Cox, 5-8, 145, sr.  Return Specialist – Mick Paffhausen, 5-10, 170, sr.

Southwestern A Coach of the Year – Rick Nordahl, Dillon.

Most Valuable Offensive Players – J.D. Ferris, QB, Dillon; Wyatt Kingston, RB, Butte Central; Josh Bauder, QB, Hamilton.

Most Valuable Defensive Player – Carson King, ILB, Dillon.